Poppy Thwe

Class of
Berklee College of Music

Pronouns Used: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Myanmar (Burma)

Principal Instrument: Voice

Majors: Songwriting

Minors: Dance

Languages Spoken (other than English): Burmese, Chinese, Thai



Describe your favorite Berklee experience so far.

Being able to connect with talented people from different countries and the community offers me all I need.

When you think about your favorite class so far, what is one example of why you enjoyed it?

The professor understands the needs in the class and the students are united and try their best.

What is your favorite part about studying and living in Boston? 

The environment and friends.

What is one piece of advice you would give to someone applying to Berklee College of Music or Boston Conservatory at Berklee?

It is okay to go take small steps but to finish until the end is important. Everyone is unique so just give out your best.

Where is your favorite place on campus?

My favorite place is the 160 caf.

Why did you choose Berklee?

Because it is the only place where I can consume all the knowledge I need to be a great artist.

What are your plans for after graduation?

Continue with my music career and represent my country. Go back to my country and share my knowledge back to young artists.

What have you enjoyed most about the live shows you’ve been involved in at Berklee?

I love the energy from the audience when taking part in Berklee shows as well as the support you feel from everyone else involved in the show.

Where do you hope to perform this coming year?

I would love to perform at the BPC this year!

Your social media channel/web URL?